Natural Treasure

Bryce

 

Don’t look now, I’m going to cheat.

I know, it’s day 7 and the point of a 365 project is to shoot a photo a day for 365 days. Honestly, I was going to take a picture of an apple, but this photo, I think, best represents this prompt and I really want to share it with you.  To ease my conscience, I can say that I did do some editing on this photo today.

I took this photo this past August, on a week long trip with my mother.  It was my first time ever out west and I can’t wait to return!  You couldn’t put into words the wonders out there, and if you have never been out there to see the sights, you are missing out!  Me, I had never really left the east coast and here I was, right smack in the middle of these magnificent mountains and vast plains…it was truly beautiful.  We visited Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, the South Rim of the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone National Park, and the Grand Tetons.  We spent 7 days on a bus traveling from state to state and I was severely motion sick the entire week.  Even that didn’t stop me.  So give me an F today if you must, but this photo is one of the best treasures I could ever share with you.  It means the world to me because I was able to experience it with my Mom.  It was the first trip we had ever taken together and probably one of the most memorable ones I will ever have in my entire life.

Sorry but not sorry 😉

7/365

10 thoughts on “Natural Treasure

  1. So much better than… an apple! I haven’t been there yet but the plan is to go on a road trip this summer with two teenagers, and visit some National Parks. Wahoo!!! I give you an “A”

    1. I thought so too…lol! If you do go, you will have a ball. It was truly life changing for me, and put a lot of things into perspective, but it was truly breathtaking 🙂 Thank you for the A! 🙂

  2. I don’t think you owe us an apology because my mouth is hanging open at the beauty that you are sharing with us. Where exactly were you for this shot? If you mentioned it, I apologize…I did read your post. This is stunning! I would have had to share it too because it is the perfect photo for this prompt. WELL DONE! I’ve only been out as far as the Rockies outside of Denver. But I want more trips west for sure.

    1. Thanks so much Sherri! This was in Springdale, Utah at Bryce Canyon National Park. They have this path you can take along the side of the canyon and after each step you take, the view changes little by little. It’s like looking at 25 different paintings. It is truly amazing to behold. I hope you get out there sometime, it’s worth every second 🙂

  3. It’s not cheating, it’s being creative instead of skipping a prompt, that’s the way I see it 🙂 I was already thinking I might have to revert to a previously taken pic, too, for this months challenge…

    1. I really wanted to be disciplined with this and follow all the rules, but I couldn’t help it. It was just too perfect an opportunity 🙂 Thanks for making me feel better 🙂

  4. Freaking gorgeous shot! I’ve lived in UT for almost my whole life but haven’t been down to Bryce or Zion’s yet. I’m missing out.

    1. Thanks Clarisa! You are missing out girl! You gotta get down there! Zion National park was by far one of my favorites, see if you can get a bus tour. It’s so much better if you aren’t driving so you can see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

