What matters?

I know it’s been a long time.  I haven’t given up, I have just been really needed lately. 

Through my busy-ness, I have noticed a sudden influx of people losing loved ones these past two weeks.  I wanted to pass along some condolences and say a few words. 

These past few months have put a lot into perspective for me.  Since my fathers stroke this past October, every phone call I receive sends my heart into a tizzy.  The endless paperwork, the kind people wanting to help, but not exactly knowing what to do, getting affairs in order in case of the inevitable, spending most of your free time in constant vigilant prayer, the decisions that need to be made, hoping you are making the right ones… 

But actually losing someone…  To have felt deep loss, the kind that paralyzes, causes blurred vision and a non-registering thought process.  Walking around zombie-fied, nothing seems as important in life than this sudden loss of life.

So what matters?

Material things?  Career boosters?  Being right all the time? 

No…. 

People.

People matter.  Those you love and those that love you.  They are what matter.  I can’t stress enough that life can be so short.  Take the time, make the effort, tell them, show them.  Tomorrow might be too late.

To those that have lost this week, I am sending the most heartfelt hugs and prayers of comfort and strength…

7 thoughts on “What matters?

  1. beautifully worded…I remember when I lost my dad I went through the world wondering why people were still carrying on with everyday things…why wasn’t everything shut down? Didn’t they know that some one great was now gone? We need to love everyday and keep our loved ones close always…it is all too short. I send Love and peace to you in these hard times you are going through right now .

    1. Thanks V. It always reminds me of that part in the movies where everything seems to be speeding by you and you are stuck in slow motion. My husbands father passed nearly three years ago. I remember it being like this. I am lucky to still have more time with my father, but the quality of his time left is going to be very difficult for him and for us.; We are hanging in there though. Every day is a baby step forward and we’ll take it!

      1. Sorry to hear of the rough road ahead for him and for you…I know you will all take comfort in each other and I will add you all to my prayers ❤

  2. This is clean, well written and smack dab in the middle of my own heart. Mind if I reblog it? I too have been pulled and tugged for all the needs that I NEED to attend to which include elderly parents and decisions to make…you are right…people matter…and that sums it up. We do our best, hopefully it is enough for the ones we love. Aha I remember a verse to share, ” The Lord draws close to the broken hearted and saves those who are crushed I spirit…” Psalm 38:4. Hold on tight.

Leave a Reply

