Still snowing

moresnow

 

It’s still snowing…  And I have accepted the fact that I have failed my 365 not even 2 months in.  How horrible is that?  I am going to try again in the future, when I have more time on my hands.  But I am really finding it hard to make the “me” time I need to get these projects done.  Weekdays, I work, and cook, and clean, and fight with my teen, and by the time I finally get some time #1 I am so tired and #2 all of my natural light is gone.  Weekends, I wake up early and head out to my parents house to sit with my father so I can give my mom some well needed time out and rest.  By the time I get home, it’s time to make dinner and then again, my natural light is gone.  I wish I could stay home all day and just work on photography.  But it’s just not in the cards for me folks.  Better luck next time…

 

20 thoughts on “Still snowing

  1. I understand the failing… I did so well in the beginning and then the days go by so quickly and picking up the camera doesn’t even factor in. It can be a struggle but I think If I have something for the month it isn’t a complete fail. Good luck and I enjoy your photos.

  2. As I continued reading, you are very busy and you are such a kind person to do all the things you do for others. Have you considered taking pictures of your Fathers hands… I think hands can be quit Symbolic in good ways and bad. I hope you don’t give up entirely and that you have a wonderful day. 🙂

    1. You know… That’s a great idea! Not only hands but parts and pieces of him, Black & White… Girl, you just put the sparkle back in my eye. Thank you so, so much!!! ❤ 🙂

      1. I am so glad that I didn’t second guess my suggestion for too long, I almost didn’t send it. I can’t wait to see your perspective! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Wendy! Sometimes it just takes the kindest people and some encouragement to light the flame again. It’s so humbling! Wishing you the best too! Your drawings are beautiful!! 🙂

  3. I’m not participating in the 365 – again – this month, either. Although it’s fun if you do have the time (and light), it’s not the be all and end all. I’m sure at some point you’ll find it was more important to spend the time with your parents and you’ll be glad you did. Photography won’t go away, it’ll wait until you’re ready!

    1. You are so right. Honestly, I really am glad I am able to spend this time with them. I’ve always known what amazing parents I have, but this time has really given me a chance to really get to know them and to show them how much I love and appreciate them. Something I should not be taking for granted. Sometimes, I just need to be reeled in a bit. Thank you for your positivity and reminding me that some things can just wait until it’s time 🙂

  4. your photos ARE lovely…and the thought mentioned above about some photos with your father is a good idea…I know I have said it before, but I send you peace and love…I am so with you on the added stresses of having a teen!

  5. I was just thinking of you and wondering how you were doing, Kristen! I’m sorry that the project isn’t going well right now…but it might work out soon. You really do have a lot going on and it’s completely understandable. I think it’s very challenging working 40 hours/wk and also finding time to do this daily.

    Why don’t you consider just sharing photos on here whenever you feel like it and forgetting the prompts right now! You do take stunning images and they inspire me. Whenever and whatever you want to capture. No demands. Don’t let this take the fun and satisfaction away. I love the suggestion of taking more of your father (and mother too).

    Hugs!

    1. Hey Sherri! How is it going my friend? Thanks so much for your kind words. I am telling you, sometimes I think I am so blessed to have met some kind and amazing people on here. Yes! That means you! I think I will take the stress off of my shoulders and try not to worry about posting everyday or following prompts at this time, even though I enjoyed them so much when I did them. I guess the timing is just not right. I think I knew it when I started it, but I needed something to take my mind off of what was happening, so I didn’t start that downward spiral… Thanks for being such a great friend and being so encouraging! 🙂

      1. You don’t have to thank me. Us photogs have such a passion for our hobby that it is a great way to meet people. I really don’t want you to get discouraged. If you normally take your camera with you {this amount of time} try to still do that. Just don’t worry about posting it online…if it’s really to intense to do that…make some free time (30 mins) on the weekend…to protect your sanity. I’m hoping to keep in touch with you whether you keep doing 365 or not. Life throws us curveballs:)

  6. Your shooting style is beautiful. Daily shooting or not, it does not matter. Many would still enjoy the images you post. Family comes first. So, just shoot only when you can. I love your photography series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

