My Gear

2015/01/img_2491.jpg

An iPhonographer, I am not. Especially since the last IOS update with my 6 plus has my back facing camera on the fritz. Is anyone else having this problem? Needless to say, here is my gear in all it’s glory. It’s not often I get to show it all off.

The old F2 belonged to my father who was a photojournalist in the Army. His camera survived numerous plane jumps and has taken shots of many celebrities over its lifespan. It still works and last summer, my father and I would bring our cameras to my sons baseball games and compare shots, after his film was developed, of course. His lenses are way old and obviously aren’t as tack sharp as the ones we have now, but he taught me so much and we had fun composing together.

My first DSLR, the D3000 was given to me 2 Christmases ago. It came in a package with two standard issue lenses. It was a great camera for starters. I keep it because A: I have to have a back up, just in case…and B: One day, I am hoping my son might show some interest in picking it up. I had originally given it to my father to play with after I purchased my D600, but because of his ailments, he is unable to use it. It makes me sad. I wish I had been able to start much sooner. We would have had so much more time to teach each other.

Besides the Sigma 70-200mm, the remainder were all gifts from Christmas or Birthdays. I am thankful to have been blessed with so much support in my pursuit of learning photography, but half of this stuff I still don’t even know how to use. I’ll get there though. After all, it’s not all about the gear, is it? šŸ˜‰

Have a great night all.

-K

16 thoughts on “My Gear

  1. Wow, nice collection. I have a Canon 1000D which is a few years old now, but I’ve been using my iphone 6 plus for my 365 as it’s easier to carry around everyday. I’ve had no problem with my back facing camera, and I have the latest update. It maybe worth taking to an apple store to check there’s not a problem with the camera itself that needs fixing šŸ˜¦

    1. Aw Man! Well I am glad to hear yours is fine! I will have to take mine in, it just went caput on me all of a sudden. It won’t focus on anything, even when I tap the screen. So Frustrating!!

    1. Thank you! His camera is very special to me. He tried to sell it a couple of years ago and I couldn’t let him part with it. So I bought it from him.

      I can’t leave home without my DSLR. I wish I could! My shoulders would thank me! šŸ™‚

  2. I’m so envious of your camera gear! How do you like the D600? I currently shoot with a D7000 and was wanting to upgrade to an FX camera. I’m stuck between the D600, D700 or D810.

    1. Hey Juliet! Thanks so much for visiting! I really love my D600 but part of me wishes I had held out for the D810. Honestly, I don’t know for sure what the difference would have been, but I always love having the latest model, if I can afford it. The one thing I absolutely love about the D600 is it’s uncanny ability to pick up light when it is really dark without so much noise. I would definitely upgrade from DX to FX, I absolutely love full frame! Good luck! Keep in touch and let me know what you decide and how you like it!!

Leave a Reply

