Balance

bal

Life can sometimes be hard to balance.  Work, fun, motherhood, cleaning, friendships, relationships, family… Some days, I just want to throw my arms in the air and scream Eff it all!  I have always been such a people-pleaser, all I ever wanted to do was make the people around me as happy as I could.  What I didn’t realize in all of this, was while I was nearly killing myself to make others happy, deep down inside – I was not happy, I was miserable.  Don’t get me wrong, serving others is very dear to my heart, and understandably, serving without the expectations of receiving is as selfless as one can be – that’s actually what I was striving for.  But not being able to serve yourself because you are always serving others is a daunting and exhausting task.  Sometimes you need to ask for help and just hope that maybe, it will be given back to you.

I have learned so much this past year.  I learned that in the end, sometimes you just have to stand up for yourself.  I learned that the only person in charge of your happiness is you.  Life is only what you make it to be, and that you shouldn’t or can’t depend on others to make you happy.  I learned that Gary Chapman’s “The five love languages” only works when both parties are willing to fill each others love tanks.  I learned that life is so fleeting and ever-changing, you never know when something life altering is going to come into play.   I learned to be diligent in my goals, knowing that if I didn’t follow the proper steps, I would never reach them.   I learned that life can be so beautiful if you take the time to appreciate it.  I learned that I was strong enough.  And more than that, I learned that I deserved happiness.

I hope you all had a great weekend and my challenge for you this week, is to find YOUR happy.

18/365

13 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Glad that you’ve given yourself permission to take care of yourself. As they say “Put on your oxygen mask first, then help those near you”

  2. Beautifully written to make your image even more meaningful. I am also a people pleaser and worry that we are the ones that have the heart attacks or strokes at a younger age because we have trouble saying no to others and yes to ourselves.

    1. Thank you Sherri. It’s so true. It’s so hard putting yourself first when you are so used to putting everyone else first, I’m still learning how. But I think in the end, we owe it to ourselves to be happy and less stressed. ❤

  3. This is awesome! When i get exhausted i forget to take a tep back and ask myself if iv given myself permission to just relax and do something fun just for me 🙂 i just read a book “The Best Yes” and l

  4. Love the way she talks about this very thing. Thanks so much for posting this…and such a perfect pic to go with it!

Leave a Reply

