Hiatus

decay

Turning the mundane into something extraordinary.  Boy is this hard for me.  Seeing the potential of a shot before actually shooting, sigh.  I am so tired of the same everyday things I see around me.

This fairy is located on my mothers deck.  There is something about it, that draws me to it every time I go for a visit.  I think it’s because every time I see it, it changes.  It weathers more each time and something that is supposed to be so cute, beautiful and perfect, turns moldy and gray, yet still so hauntingly beautiful.

I love the pattern the light hits on each of the balusters.  I love the planters that surround her that signifies a certain emptiness, an unfruitful display of nothing.  The fake fronds behind her give her just enough character to place her in the correct atmosphere of where I believe she should be, along with her bare feet.  I love the way the crevices hold the old dirt and dust to give her some contrast to her now gray, but once stark white, surface.

Slowly but surely friends, when I can make it back.  I will.  I miss it too much.

-K

5 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. I am so tired of the same everyday things I see around me. —

    First off I want to say Hello Kristen! I’ve missed you!

    I just finished writing a blogger I follow named Robert who feels uninspired with his photography. I commented with the same message that I copied from your post. I can’t travel all of the time (hello staycation for spring break) and I often feel like hitting my head on the wall with these prompts. Seriously.

    I don’t care if you do the daily photo project. (sorry that sounds harsh) Working, raising your son – life is busy. I just hope you keep sharing on here what inspires you to pick up your camera whenever you can.

      1. Oh Kristen! Right back at ya! I just don’t want you to be feeling pressured or bummed that you are not doing “every day” photos. Life is short and we women get bombarded with pressure. Whenever you get inspired and share I will be waiting to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

